

Strasbourg, 8th of July 2021

Mr Frans Timmermans

Executive Vice-President for the European Green Deal

Mr Valdis Dombrovskis

Executive Vice-President for an Economy that Works for People

Ms Mairead McGuinness

Commissioner for Financial Services, Financial Stability and Capital Markets Union

Mr Virginijus Sinkevičius

Commissioner for Environment, Oceans and Fisheries

Ms Kadri Simson

Commissioner for Energy

Subject: Nuclear energy in the Taxonomy Regulation

Dear Executive Vice-Presidents, dear Commissioners,

We, the undersigned members of the European parliament, acknowledge the hard work that the Commission has put into completing the first delegated act of the Taxonomy Regulation. The European Union has committed itself to becoming climate neutral by the middle of the century. This requires great efforts from the Member States as well as the EU as a whole. No effort can be spared in this important work, neither from the EU nor from the Member States. The taxonomy regulation has the potential to be a decisive tool in this regard.

We cannot afford to ignore any energy sources that have the prerequisites to make a positive contribution on the path towards climate neutrality. That nuclear power is such a kind of energy source is, to us, obvious. Therefore, those member states that for this reason choose to invest and wish to mobilize private capital towards nuclear installations should not be met with resistance, but encouragement, from the EU. We are very pleased to see three different expert reports from the Commission that points in a similar conclusion. Not the least the Commissions Joint Research Centre (JRC) report "Technical assessment of nuclear energy with respect to the 'do no significant harm' criteria of Regulation (EU) 2020/852", published this March. Last week the results of two scientific boards – Article 31 report and the SCHEER report – were published by the Commission. Reports that mostly confirms the findings in the JRC report, that the existing legal framework provides adequate protection in terms of public health and the environment.

We welcome the findings of the JRC and the two scientific boards, which specific environmental aspects where assessed scientifically by a committee with expertise in environmental science, nuclear safety and safe nuclear waste disposal. This means that the scientific review acknowledges key elements of the "do no significant harm" principle. If we, and the EU as a whole, are serious about facing the climate crisis with powerful tools, then we cannot reasonably discriminate against any fossil-free technology with as much potential as nuclear power objectively has.

There are obvious political wills from Member states without nuclear power, or with nuclear power currently being phased out, to persuade the European Commission to ignore scientific conclusions and actively oppose nuclear power. We urge the Commission to be brave enough to disregard these calls and to choose the path that their scientific experts have now advised them to take, namely to include nuclear power in the taxonomy.

The taxonomy regulation should be guided by the desire to achieve climate neutrality and by the principle of "do no significant harm". In the past, the UN Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change has pointed out nuclear power as a key in the fight against climate change. The European Commission's expert body has now reached similar conclusions. It is our hope that the European Commission is courageous enough to create EU regulations that do not actively generate disadvantages for investments in nuclear power, or any other fossil free technology.

Yours sincerely,

Sara Skyttedal (EPP, Sweden) Ondřej Kovařík (Renew, Czech Republic)

Asim Ademov (EPP, Bulgaria) Ádám Kósa (NI, Hungary)

Traian Băsescu (EPP, Romania) Miapetra Kumpula-Natri (S&D, Finland)

François-Xavier Bellamy (EPP, France)

Tom Berendsen (EPP, Netherlands)

David Lega (EPP, Sweden)

Peter Lundgren (ECR, Sweden)

Vasile Blaga (EPP, Romania) Morten Løkkegaard (Renew, Denmark)

Andrea Bosskor (NJ, Hungary) Marian-Jean Mariansky (EPP, Romania)

Andrea Bocskor (NI, Hungary) Marian-Jean Marinescu (EPP, Romania)
Ioan-Rareş Bogdan (EPP, Romania) Thierry Mariani (ID, France)

Franc Bogovič (EPP, Slovenia) Eva Maydell (EPP, Bulgaria)
Gilles Boyer (Renew, France) Joëlle Mélin (ID, France)

Geert Bourgeois (ECR, Belgium) Siegfried Mureșan (EPP, Romania)

Daniel Buda (EPP, Romania) Caroline Nagtegaal-van Doorn (Renew, Netherlands)

Cristian-Silviu Bușoi (EPP, Romania) Gheorghe-Vlad Nistor (EPP, Romania)

Dita Charanzová (Renew, Czech Republic) Andrey Novakov (EPP, Bulgaria)

Asger Christensen (Renew, Denmark)

Johan Van Overtveldt (ECR, Belgium)

Nathalie Colin-Oesterlé (EPP, France)

Arnaud Danjean (EPP, France)

Dominique Riquet (Renew, France)

Geoffroy Didier (EPP, France)

Martina Dlabajová (Renew, Czech republic)

Emil Radev (EPP, Bulgaria)

Agnès Evren (EPP, France)

Gheorghe Falcă (EPP, Romania)

Rob Rooken (ECR, Netherlands)

Rob Roos (ECR, Netherlands)

Pietro Fiocchi (ECR, Italy)

Bert-Jan Ruissen (ECR, Netherlands)

Søren Gade (Renew, Denmark)

Maria Grapini (S&D, Romania)

Anne Sander (EPP, France)

Petri Sarvamaa (EPP, Finland)

Catherine Griset (ID, France)

Bart Groothuis (Renew, Netherlands)

Klemen Groselj (Renew, Slovenia)

Sven Simon (EPP, Germany)

Ivan Štefanec (EPP, Slovakia)

Jessica Stegrud (ECR, Sweden)

Christophe Grudler (Renew, France)

András Gyürk (NI, Hungary)

Enikő Győri (NI, Hungary)

Riho Terras (EPP, Estonia)

Tomas Tobé (EPP, Sweden)

Eugen Tomac (EPP, Romania)

Teuvo Hakkarainen (ID, Finland) Romana Tomc (EPP, Slovenia)

Mircea Hava (EPP, Romania) Balázs Hidvéghi (NI, Hungary)

Martin Hlaváček (Renew, Czech Republic)

Michiel Hoogeveen (ECR, Netherlands)

Laura Huhtasaari (ID, Finland)

Jan Huitema (Renew, Netherlands) György Hölvényi (EPP, Hungary)

Eugen Jurzyca (MEP, Slovakia)

Assita Kanko (ECR, Belgium)

Karin Karlsbro (Renew, Sweden)

Ondrej Knotek (Renew, Czech Republic)

Kateřina Konečná (The Left, Czech Republic)

Arba Kokalari (EPP, Sweden)

Edina Tóth (NI, Hungary)

Adrián Vázquez Lázara (Renew, Spain)

Lóránt Vincze (EPP, Romania) Henna Virkkunen (EPP, Finland)

Alexandr Vondra (ECR, Czech Republic)

Jörgen Warborn (EPP, Sweden)

Charlie Weimers (ECR, Sweden)

Pernille Weiss (EPP, Denmark)

Iuliu Winkler (EPP, Romania)

Stéphanie Yon-Courtin (Renew, France)

Jan Zahradil (ECR, Czech Republic)

Tomáš Zdechovský (EPP, Czech Republic)